stay humble

“I knew he had humbled himself to ask for my help.” That was my online dictionary using humble as a verb. It’s certainly not an easy thing, asking for help; but it is an opportunity. An opportunity for the one asking, and also for the giver.

I haven’t given many rides to hitchhikers in the past few years, having small children will squelch that real quick. But one of the simplest ways I have been able to offer help was to assist someone that was going in the same direction.

Likewise, in those times that I get going doing too many things at once; I may overlook a simple symbol and accidentally put gasoline in the spout marked for oil. Thankfully, it was a simple lawn mower and my husband rescued me yet again by emptying and adding the right fluids to the right place. We were both relieved when the motor turned over!

But asking for help doesn’t always inconvenience the helper. That person may be looking for ways to be of service and just not know that you have a need. Not many of us are mind readers, after all.

I have found that I can praise God in those seemingly discouraging times. There is relief in that I don’t have to figure it all out! I am His and He will care for all who obey and trust Him.

The needs are great, and none of us ever do great things. But we can do small things, with great love, and together we can do something wonderful.  Mother Teresa

To learn humility is to learn contentment in all circumstances. Humility is not in what we own or achieve, but in maintaining a teachable attitude, a willingness to bend to the will of the Father. Jan Silvious

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. James 1:17.

And my God shall supply all your needs according to His rigged in glory by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19.

Leave a comment